VeggieSurvivor

Surviving Fruits and Vegetables for 39 Days

Round Three of Veggie Survivor Begins!

Friends call it insane. Nutritionist friends call it unhealthy insane. That may be true, but I can tell you that I have felt better and had more discipline on Veggie Survivor than any other time in my life… and I’m ready for Round 3!

What is Veggie Survivor?

I had a thought I couldn’t get out of my head for several years that I kept ruminating over. Would I eat more fruits and vegetables if I was forced to live on them for an extended period of time? In the Spring of 2010, I decided to make my move. I made a list of fruits and vegetables and put them in order and then added dairy and meat to the end of the list. I would live on one food for four days and then add another whole food to my diet for the next four days and so on. The experiment lasted for over 3 months. At the end of the game, I had completely given up soda as my permanent change. I haven’t had a soda in over two years now.

Last Spring I decided to play the game again and my wife Sonja joined me. I altered the game by adding a new whole food every day instead of once every four days. Sonja and I were on Veggie Survivor for over two months. My permanent change on that game was switching to decaf coffee. I was not as successful in my switch to decaf as I was in dropping the soda, but I now average 9 cups of decaf to 1 cup of regular coffee at this point and I’m drinking more tea than coffee which has helped lower the acidity in my diet.

I’m now ready for a new Veggie Survivor challenge. A few friends have urged me to start a blog on the game, so I’m taking a shot at maintaining this blog while Sonja and I go through round 3.

Welcome to Veggie Survivor: Random House

This will be our shortest game to date. We will play for 39 days and end on my 51st birthday on April 6th. What’s different about this Veggie Survivior? Instead of carefully selecting the food succession list, each food will be selected by a random number generator. We have no idea what tomorrow’s first food will be. I just know it will either be a whole fruit, a whole vegetable, beans or grain food. In the past, I always started with coffee beans so I could ground them and have coffee. By the fourth day, we introduced grapes so we could have wine. This time around, I have no idea when our coping and comfort foods are gonna show up!

Here’s the list for this round.

  • Decaf Coffee Beans
  • Rice
  • Grapes
  • Spinach / Arugula
  • Pinto Beans
  • Tomatoes
  • Bananas
  • Almonds
  • Onions
  • Carrots
  • Apples
  • Mushrooms
  • Green Beans
  • Avocado
  • Oranges
  • Broccoli
  • Squash / Zuccini
  • Bell Peppers
  • Black Beans
  • Peas
  • Peppers
  • Chick Peas
  • Pineapple
  • Walnuts
  • Soy Beans
  • Wheat
  • Strawberries
  • Lettuce
  • Blueberries / Raspberries
  • Pumpkin Seeds
  • Peaches
  • Canteloup / Melons
  • Brussel Sprouts
  • Yams
  • Cranberries
  • Kidney Beans
  • Pistachios
  • Oats
  • Potatoes

We will also get to pick one spice every day to add to our diet.

Being a gamer, Veggie Survivor works for how my brain is wired. I’m not depriving myself of foods, I get to add a new food tomorrow! Sonja and I have placed ourselves in a situation where we get excited that green beans have been added to the list. I’m looking forward to the agony and the ecstacy of the food I’ll be faced with each day of the game. Bring on the detox!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

